Web Design Start-Up

Status
Not open for further replies.

zandre88

In Runtime
Hey everyone,

I'm currently a college student and would like to find something to do on the side to make a little bit of extra money. In 5th grade I started making websites using HTML and did so through about 8th grade. The websites I made were primarily for myself and e-Feds (RP Wrestling Websites). Unfortunately, I quit doing that in high school and have gotten pretty far behind in the game.

I have a good basic knowledge of HTML and very basic knowledge of CSS. I've always been good at self-teaching myself things and luckily have a cousin who designs websites for a living which is a nice resource to have. I'd just like to get some help and advice with a few things.

First of all, what programs should I familiarize myself with? Also, if you could suggest some good resources and tutorials on using whichever programs that would be much appreciated.

As far as going about myself comfortable and familiar with HTML, CSS, etc could you suggest some good websites and/or eBooks that offer the best resources, tutorials, guides?

Any other advice or suggestions?

My plan is at first is to focus on simplicity and over-time get more advanced. I know some people actually would prefer something that is simple and elegant, if you will, over something really flashy and complicated.

Thanks.

Well the problem is simple. With the introduction of HTML5, simple isnt simple anymore. HTML5 allows people to use flashy things, without having to use flash. Meaning that everyone is getting away from Adobe Flash Player and can now just use a video and have it show on their page. So it isnt so simple anymore.

Adobe still has the best products for this. Dreamweaver used in conjunction with Photoshop.

I have used Microsoft Expression Web along with Paint.NET before to make some sites. But honestly, it isnt going to be easy just jumping back in as you think. HTML5 has changed teh game.