Computer Forums

Member Login

Remember Me? Sign Up! | Forgot Password
 
Slogan
 
Closed Thread
Old 10-09-2006, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Static_11's Avatar
 
Monster Techie

Join Date: Apr 2005

Posts: 1,944

Static_11 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Immortal Verses

Immortal Verses is a compilation of poems due out in the winter of 2006. It will be a hardbound coffee-table book.

If anyone has talked to theprofessor (TF guy) about Treasure Trooper, the site he does his survey for money things, you may know what im talking about.

When you sign up for TT, you get the chance to make money by doing "tasks". One of the tasks was for $1.25 or $1.50..i forgot.. but the task was to submit a poem of my own to www.poetry.com So I submitted one i wrote way earlier. I get a letter today saying that it's going to be published in Immortal Verses. Totally suprised. Kind of stoked too.. i think it'd be cool to be published ^_^
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Banned

Join Date: Aug 2004

Posts: 11,603

Nubius

Default

Yeah, hate to break your bubble, but it is nothing but a crappy money making scheme really. They get you excited about "being published" and then you buy the book. I did the same thing in around 7th grade or so. So yeah, I've technically got a crappy poem published in some book I couldn't tell you the name of if my life depended on it.

Infact, I'm pretty sure my mom probably has the book somewhere around the house.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Static_11's Avatar
 
Monster Techie

Join Date: Apr 2005

Posts: 1,944

Static_11 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

lol, never said i was gunna buy it.

my mom might though... but im not buying it until i see it...and thats if i have the 50 bucks to spare.. which is unlikely. oh well.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Banned

Join Date: Aug 2004

Posts: 11,603

Nubius

Default

well yeah, if I was as old as you are now when I did it, I wouldn't have bought it either lol.

They'll put it out and all, but it probably costs them $10 to print it then charge you $50 for it. Filled with a bunch of crappy writings since they're going around tricking 7th graders!!!!
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Super Techie

Join Date: Jul 2005

Posts: 449

homerj14 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

.. just by looking at the sites content, and way its designed its definately a scam..
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Static_11's Avatar
 
Monster Techie

Join Date: Apr 2005

Posts: 1,944

Static_11 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

poetry.com is probably the most well known poetry site on the internet... defintly not a scam lol.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Super Techie

Join Date: Jul 2005

Posts: 449

homerj14 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

was a joke referring to the posts above
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Banned

Join Date: Aug 2004

Posts: 11,603

Nubius

Default

yeah, and I'm sure it's poetry.com who I went with years ago.

And by "scam" I don't mean they'll run off with your money. I call it a "scam" because of the fact that I doubt they even read what's submitted. They take a bunch of writings, throw it in a book, charge people a ridiculous price for a bunch of junk........that's a scam.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Banned

Join Date: Dec 2005

Location: in the past

Posts: 1,144

thebleakness

Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

This is just like the Who's Who Among American High School Students. I am in it and i dont get crap for it. If i want too i can pay the $70 or w/e cost and i can look at my BIO all day long. A bio i must say is very lacking. Its obvious that they are looking for money because there are many many other students that are much more impressive bios then me. If they were really looking for the best american high school students they wouldnt have picked me, lol.
thebleakness is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On