Computer Forums

Member Login

Remember Me? Sign Up! | Forgot Password
 
Slogan
 
Closed Thread
Old 04-10-2005, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Ultra Techie

Join Date: Aug 2004

Posts: 821

Regulus

Question Free iPod article

I just got my next issue in "Popular Science" and I came across this article with regards to the whole "Free iPod" concept, so I scanned it so I can show you (off to the left) ...

free iPod article

What do you think?
Regulus is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Ultra Techie

Join Date: Jun 2004

Location: Minnesota

Posts: 962

toxicity_27 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to toxicity_27
Default

Very interesting to say the least. Makes the free iPod seem legit. Scary.
__________________
Desktop: Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.4, Asus P5B-E, 3GB G. Skill DDR2 800, eVGA 8800GT Superclocked 512MB, 22" LG, 19" NEC
Laptop: HP Pavilion dv9500, Core 2 Duo T7300 @ 2.0, 3GB G. Skill DDR2 667, nVidia 8600 M GS 512MB, 17"
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Wizard Techie

Join Date: Oct 2004

Posts: 4,003

Trifid is on a distinguished road

Default

I like the idea of the conga lines, but tbh it is more worth my time to get a job and earn the moeny, than have to spend more time trying to get the "ipod" and then format my pc to get rid of all the spyaware and virus's thast will come from sites liek that.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Ultra Techie

Join Date: Aug 2004

Posts: 821

Regulus

Default

Yes, but did you read the part about "...create a separate account and close it down once your freebie arrives."
Regulus is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Monster Techie

Join Date: Feb 2005

Posts: 1,912

GrimReaper23 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Yea man I'm going to do that. I was thinking abut it.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Wizard Techie

Join Date: Jan 2003

Posts: 3,320

Shakie

Send a message via ICQ to Shakie Send a message via Yahoo to Shakie
Default

Until I personal know someone who has recieved one of these "free ipods" I'm convinced it's a scam. If sooooooooo many people do this how come it seems that no one actually knows of someone getting this?
__________________
<code>
(\ /) This is Bunny. Add him to your signature
(O.o) to help him achieve <a href=\"http://carboxymoron.com/sigbunny/\" title=\"the signature bunny\">world domination</a>.
(> <)
</code>
<code>Shakie<br>Smodministrator<br>\"If I don\'t step over the line every now-and-then, how will I know where it is?\"</code>
Shakie is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 05:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Super Techie

Join Date: Dec 2004

Posts: 319

evelmunkey is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shakie
Until I personal know someone who has recieved one of these "free ipods" I'm convinced it's a scam. If sooooooooo many people do this how come it seems that no one actually knows of someone getting this?

Im with you....
__________________
evelmunkey is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 05:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Lord Techie

Join Date: Jan 2005

Posts: 8,025

DJ-CHRIS is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shakie
Until I personal know someone who has recieved one of these "free ipods" I'm convinced it's a scam. If sooooooooo many people do this how come it seems that no one actually knows of someone getting this?
They work by expansion, a theroetical maximum of 10% of the people ever getting ipod's. This is with EVERYONE signing up 10 people. Alot of people quit halfway bringing down the percentage ALOT more
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 06:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Ultra Techie

Join Date: Oct 2004

Posts: 874

YanBooth

Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

It would be a good idea, if there wasn't so much bother involved to get your free crap...
I wonder how they do finance it, sell your identity @ email to a few thousand companies??

Later
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 06:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Wizard Techie

Join Date: Dec 2004

Location: Canada

Posts: 3,791

gaara is on a distinguished road

Default

As far as I'm concerned, the original site, freeipods.com, is completely legit and I've known people to recieve their free ipod in the mail as promised.

They pay for all the free stuff with the advertisement they make, that's why they make you complete offers and such, companies pay these sites big bucks for that kinda thing.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On