Computer Forums

Member Login

Remember Me? Sign Up! | Forgot Password
 
Slogan
 
Computer Forums > Miscellaneous > Off Topic Discussion » EBay message (I need advice)
Closed Thread
Old 08-20-2006, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Newb Techie

Join Date: May 2005

Posts: 33

xStevey_Bx

Default EBay message (I need advice)

I am selling a PSP on ebay and I am asking for £160 buy now...

I recieved this message from a buyer

Quote:
[USERNAME]( 41)
Positive feedback: 97.7%
Member since: 04-Aug-03
Location: NY, United States
Registered on: www.ebay.com


Item: Sony PSP Value Pack w/ 4 Games ([ITEM NUMBER])
This message was sent while the listing was active.
gottarunow is a potential buyer.



Dear [USERNAME]
,
I am a US citizen and i will like to buy this item for my son who is studying in Africa and i would have love to bid on this item like others but my job won't permit me cos i'm a busy man due to the nature of my job and i will like to make an immediate offer of £450.00 for the item so if you are still intrested in selling this item to me get back to me with your full names,address and your personal e-mail address then i'll send out the money immediately through my Paypal Account or via International Money Postal Order.Your urgent responce will be highly appreciated.
Regards,
[BUYERS NAME].

I would like to think this is real but due to the fact that he has asked for my address when he intends to pay through pay pal I feel aprehensive..

What should I do :S

Edit:removed usernames and item number
xStevey_Bx is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Super Techie

Join Date: Jun 2006

Posts: 309

Syrillian

Default

Greetings,

First - Circumventing the eBay system is un-ethical. It is stated in the eBay rules and regulations.

Second - It is your choice.

Third - If you choose to move forward with this transaction, be careful. Giving out an e-mail address is okay. DO NOT give your physical address or home phone number. PayPal is a safe way to exchange money, and the previously mentioned info is NOT required.

Yeah...it sounds too wierd and too good; 450 BP is the clincher. I smell something fishy.

Oh yeah! ... one day the FBI knocked on my door regarding an eBay transaction. "Fencing" is big online.

Use wisdom and caution.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 12:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
macdude425's Avatar
 
Member (again)

Join Date: Jan 2005

Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?

Posts: 4,200

macdude425 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Sounds a little strange to me. He's willing to pay 450 quid for it, which is FOUR times as high as what it is going for on BIN, but wants your FULL name and address and email address?

I'd say no.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Lord Techie

Join Date: Jul 2005

Posts: 7,557

PZEROFGH is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Though he is offering a lot... He has somehwat good feedback.

http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAP...d=300018353294

You didnt remove the username

If you do go through it, make sure you clear your check or money and put it in your bank accoutn before you ship the item out.
__________________
E8400 | Abit IP35 Pro | 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 | HIS HD3870 | 520HX | CM690
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
Make Free Money by Doing Offers!! Really Works CLICK NOW
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vybuni's Avatar
 
Monster Techie

Join Date: Sep 2005

Location: Cleveland

Posts: 1,486

Vybuni is on a distinguished road

Default

I wouldn't do it, it sounds too suspicious.
__________________
Vybuni is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Ultra Techie

Join Date: Jan 2006

Posts: 559

magouster

Default

Trust me, it's a scam by some Nigerian dude sitting in a internet-shop in Lagos. He'll send the money fine, then once you send the item, he'll contact paypal claiming you never shipped the item, and they'll take the money back.

Easy solution, ask him why a American citizen would shop for a PSP on the UK ebay. And why would he offer you more than what the PSP is worth. And why would an American go studying in Africa? It's not a case of not having time for bidding, since your sell-now price is 160. Why would he offer more than what you're asking?

I've encountered this before, don't even bother sending him an email. Just ignore the whole thing!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
True Techie

Join Date: Jun 2006

Posts: 210

Athlon is on a distinguished road

Default

Ignore it. You should just sell it to a genuine buyer properly
__________________
Athlon is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
FireFox's Avatar
 
Ultra Techie

Join Date: Apr 2004

Posts: 608

FireFox is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
Trust me, it's a scam by some Nigerian dude sitting in a internet-shop in Lagos. He'll send the money fine, then once you send the item, he'll contact paypal claiming you never shipped the item, and they'll take the money back.

Easy solution, ask him why a American citizen would shop for a PSP on the UK ebay. And why would he offer you more than what the PSP is worth. And why would an American go studying in Africa? It's not a case of not having time for bidding, since your sell-now price is 160. Why would he offer more than what you're asking?

I've encountered this before, don't even bother sending him an email. Just ignore the whole thing!
Exactly.

Don't do it.
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 11:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Newb Techie

Join Date: May 2005

Posts: 33

xStevey_Bx

Default

I did as magouster and athlon suggested and ignored it only to recieve the buy now offer from a new user. I was sent an e-mail saying -

Quote:

Hello,
Good day to you I'm so glad to buy your item for my friend who is incharge of the charity organisation in Africa(Nigeria),Am making this as a donation to thecharity organisation and so you will have to help me to get it shipped down to him .I' want the shipment via 1st class airmail with the fastest service they are having.Kindly help me to confirm the shipping cost and get back to me with the total cost.Regarding the payment i wish to pay via paypal but due to the problem i've with my account,i willn't beable to use it so I'll need your full name and address to make the payment which the funds will be deliver to you at your address in cash,the payment will be made from my western union account.I hope to read from you as soon as possible here is the shipping address

[PO BOX WHAT A PRAT]
What the **** is this guy playing at!
xStevey_Bx is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 11:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
Banned

Join Date: Sep 2005

Posts: 5,191

The General

Default

No way! Ignore him at all costs! Do NOT send it to him! Do NOT accept money from him!

Selling "hot" items on eBay like PSP's and iPods is a SHADEY SHADEY affair. 95% of them get scammed or are scams. DO NOT SEND HIM THE PSP!! I cannot stress that enough.
The General is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On