Computer ForumsComputers  

Go Back   Computer Forums > The World Wide Web > Virus - Spyware Protection / Detection

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2005, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,637
Question Strange email virus claims...

Strange thing has happened a couple times on my mother's (Windows based) computer.

Have gotten a couple emails that look something like this:

(Note: {domain} is cut out for privacy, as is {name}. Both of these are parts of her email address, though in the "To" occurance they come seperately strangely enough. "Perfora.net" is NOT her domain)

Quote:
Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender
From: Mail Delivery System: <mailer-Daemon@perfora.net>
To: SRS0=0hza=TL={domain}.ca={name}@srs.perfora.net

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software
NEMESIS/mout on mout.perfora.net[217.160.230.40].
The delivery of the mail below has failed due to the following reasons:

certqueen@gmail.com:
transmission rejected by 64.233.171.114
command : data transmission
response: 552 5.7.0 Illegal Attachment


-----------------------------------------------------------------

Received: from [206.108.5.67] (helo=certificatequeen.com)
by mx.perfora.net with ESMTP (Nemesis),
id 0MKvAI-1DTOLm2fZ7-0006L6; Wed, 04 May 2005 14:11:58 -0400
From: {name}@{domain}.ca
To: eahavta@certificatequeen.com
Subject: Re: Re: Thanks!
Date: Wed, 4 May 2005 14:11:59 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0003_00004A9C.00006EC5"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
Message-ID: <0MKvAI-1DTOLm2fZ7-0006L6@mx.perfora.net>
The second one looked very different with reference to "filename="your_details.pif", which is quite obviously some sort of malware. The email address mentioned in the second one was more local, up to having our city in the domain name that she supposedly sent an email to.

None of the addresses had ever been heard of by any of us, and there is definitely no record of any of these emails ever being sent.

Norton Antivirus is provided for her as a corporate edition, and is updated and a scan was done. Spyware was also checked, though Thunderbird and Firefox are used as opposed to IE and OE and thus such threats may be less likely.

This sound like a virus? Email hijacked? This whole thing seems strange to me and I'm wondering if anyone here is familiar with such a situation and what it actually means, and possibly what action should be taken.

Thanks for any advice.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue.
-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------
------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----


|||Official Forum Rules|||
Qiranworms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to fixyourdns
Default Spoof email

Your email address is being spoofed,

FAQ: Spoof email
fixyourdns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0