Computer ForumsComputers  

Go Back   Computer Forums > The World Wide Web > Web Site Hosting / ISP Q & A

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2004, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Thumbs down Warning!!

Beware of two clever, fraudulent Internet registrars - joker.com & registryweb.com – and warn your friends and family not to deal with these companies!

The Internet scam in short:
1. Joker.com’s reseller, registryweb.com – an Australian company - lures you in by offering inexpensive domain registration. They do not mention the real registrar, joker.com.
2. Shortly after, registryweb.com claims they no longer manage the domains, but that joker.com – a German/Swiss company - do. All you have to do is to login to a “servicezone” and take control of your domains.
3. However, you cannot login to the service zone at joker.com as your email address now is invalid due to joker.com changing the original email address to one of their own desire (established and owned by themselves), thereby controlling the domains in full.
4. After several attempts to make joker.com change their own email addresses back to your own, they now demand money to do so - without any guarantee that, after you pay, they won't change they email addresses again, thus once again assume control over your domains.
5. By the way, none of the crooks answers any telephone of fax calls. Joker.com has a “robot” answer your emails – under the name of Joachim Rolf (German nickname for incompetence). Registryweb.com just doesn’t answer.

Godaddy.com merely incompetent, or….?
To make things even worse, one of our domains was hosted by godaddy.com - but last week the website and all our emails suddenly stopped working. Without our knowledge and information the domain has been moved from godaddy’s nameserver back to an invalid name server at joker.com! When we asked godaddy.com how this could happen without our knowledge they gave an explanation that “we should change our password as our account must have been compromized.” We made several attemps to get more detailed info from them on the matter, but godaddy.com never bothered to return with any further explanations - except of course continously using our credit card information to pay for them “hosting our domain” from an invalid name server!

We have more than once reported these problems to ICANN, that has both joker.com and godaddy.com as accredited registrars, but ICANN has proven to be a totally useless organization! Advice will be received with gratitude as to how we can get our three domains, back, now stolen by joker.com.

Name and address of fraudulent registrar: joker.com
CSL Gmbh Joker.com
Rathausufer 16
40213 Duesseldorf, NRW, DE
Email: info@joker.com
Phone+49-211-867670

Name and address of fraudulent collaborator: registryweb.com
Specialist Web Corporation Pty Ltd.
PO Box 334, Turramurra
Sydney, NSW 2074
AUSTRALIA
Fax: +61-2-9487-7255
maninexile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to raylu
Thumbs down scam

Godaddy could be merely incompetent. When they said "we should change our password as our account must have been compromized," they could mean it. Joker, as you now know is a fraudulent company, could have stolen it.
ICANN can only do so much. Also, all four/three (if joker and registryweb are the same) companies probably recieve hundreds of emails a day and can only reply so fast.

Besides, would you honestly trust two companies named godaddy and joker? They don't sound respectable to me...
__________________
\"Only when the last tree is dead, the last field paved, and the last river dammed, only then will we realize that we can\'t eat money.\"
http://raylu.uni.cc
raylu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 04:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 447
Default

wow its amazing how much scum there is today i cant believe the things people do these days
HardKore{Killa} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Larry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,394
Default

Hi maninexile,

Can you give more details on the GoDaddy issue?

What is/was the domain is question? I would like to talk with godaddy about it.
Thanks
Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0