Random Lockup problems in Ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

UA_Iron

Daemon Poster
I'm a major newbie when it comes to any Linux/Unix type, so I threw my old hardware together with the intentions of running a Secure Shell-tunnel to hook up to on whatever internet connection I'm on.

I'm getting these random lockups a few minutes into using Ubuntu that I cannot recover from. Check out these pics:

ogcdpf.jpg

s3kcw1.jpg

My hardware is:
Biostar tforce6100-939
AMD64 3700+
2x512 DDR memory (generic)
40gb WD IDE harddrive
IDE CD/DVD writer
Corsair 450w PSU (brand new)

According to this wiki this mobo should be perfectly supported under ubuntu
UbuntuWiki:Biostar Tforce 6100-939 - Ubuntu中文

I'm thinking it may be video driver related - I tried all three of the suggested ones found by ubuntu, and even uninstalled the previous ones. Under XP on this same hardware I have run prime95 with no errors. I have run memtest with no errors.

Does anyone have any idea what the heck could be going on?

To me it looks like a video driver issue, What graphics have you got?

It's integrated into the mobo.

North Bridge NVIDIA GeForce 6100
South Bridge NVIDIA nForce 410

Onboard Video Chipset NVIDIA GeForce 6100

Yeah, it definitely looks like a driver issue to me too. Should I download the linux geforce driver appropriate for the card and force ubuntu to use it?

I did download a ***.run file from nvidia, but am kind of clueless on how to execute it in ubuntu.

go through the non free (official nvidia) drivers mate open source is ok for a given value of OK for some things an graphics cards in one of them.

I'm a major newbie when it comes to any Linux/Unix type, so I threw my old hardware together with the intentions of running a Secure Shell-tunnel to hook up to on whatever internet connection I'm on.

I'm getting these random lockups a few minutes into using Ubuntu that I cannot recover from. Check out these pics:

ogcdpf.jpg

s3kcw1.jpg

My hardware is: