My CD/DVD drive doesn't show up!

Status
Not open for further replies.

eukaryotical

Beta member
Hi.

For a while now, I've been having problems with my DVD drive. It doesn't show up when I turn on my computer. Originally, I was able to solve my problem by going to the device manager and uninstalling it, but now it doesn't even show up there. What else... Um, I know that I don't have any virus/spyware stuff on my computer. If it helps, my computer is an HP Pavillion dv9000, I'm using Windows Vista. Can't remember what my DVD drive is exactly, but it's a Pioneer.

So yeah, I'm not good with computers, obviously. Any solutions? :(

Also, I think I read something about going to the registry editor and removing an "upper filter", or something like that. So I removed it. That might have led to more problems.

Thanks!

Have your tried a new ide or sata (whichever is applicable) cable to the drive?
rechecked the power connection?
tried a different ide or sata (whichever is applicable) connection on the motherboard?
tried said drive in another computer?
tried a different drive in your computer?

Have your tried a new ide or sata (whichever is applicable) cable to the drive?
rechecked the power connection?
tried a different ide or sata (whichever is applicable) connection on the motherboard?
tried said drive in another computer?
tried a different drive in your computer?

Sorry, but I don't know what any of that means. I downloaded the file on this page, unzipped it and ran it, and when I rebooted my drive showed up again. When I came back to it this morning though, it stopped showing up, and even worse, the same solution won't work. If it helps, when I put a CD inside, it seems to make a noise as if it's reading the disc. It just won't show up anywhere.

If Im right thats a HD DVD drive.
I'm guessing your still able to eject the disc tray to put in/take our your discs.. so its not completely dead. One idea would be to delete upper and lower filters on registry editor