hard drive space required for Windows 7

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bear with me now, Virtual machine and VMWare is all new to me. Are you saying set up virtual machine on the pc in my sig? How does this work?

It works just as it sounds. You create a virtual machine. A PC within your PC. It runs from within your current install of Windows. you give it space, give it resources to use and install Windows to test it out.

Definition:

program for sharing computer resources: a program running on a computer that creates a self-contained operating environment and presents the appearance to the user of a different computer. A virtual machine simulates at a minimum the instruction set of the computer it emulates

I was a complete noob to Virtual Machines. It's NOT hard at all to setup a virtual machine. Get your Virtual Machine software of choice. VirtualBox is free for personal/evaluation use. You can get information and a user manual at VirtualBox

I am guessing that using a virtual machine would be easier than using the older computer. Where would I download this and how easy is this to use? Is it pretty much self explanatory? I do not risk losing any information, do I?

What is the difference between Virtual Machine and WMWare? Which one should I be using?

Thanks for all your help so far.

VMWare is a virtual machine. That is the name. Virtual Machine Ware. ;)

95black gave you a link to virtualbox which is really simple and self explanatory to setup. You wont lose anything cause everything that you do with the virtual machine is contained within the virtual machine software you use.