About reformatting and drivers

Deanna Marie

Solid State Member
I'm wondering if someone can help guide me in reformatting my computer and what are the important drivers I'll need to install, after I've installed Windows XP... I don't have the disks to the drivers I'll need, so I need to find where to download them from online. I have an Asustek and I know I need Audio, Video and Network drivers. Are these the only 3 I need? Or do I need to look for other drivers, as well?!

I've never reformatted a computer before, so I'm really new at this. I do have a windows disk so I'm pretty confident I can do the windows install myself. I'm just not sure how to begin the reformatting, and not sure exactly which are the important drivers I'll need.

Thank you for the help...
:):cool:

Last edited:
Video, audio, chipset, ethernet, wireless (if you have a wireless card) are the main ones.

You can find out what Video/audio/ethernet devices you have by looking in Device Manager and looking on the manufacturers' sites or by googling the brand/model number of the device you need the driver for.

It honestly depends on the motherboard and devices... Newer AMD motherboards use one large package for Chipset, Audio, and Video anymore, intel may be the same. Can you give us a computer model? Or the model numbers and brands of the hardware present inside the case?

Thank you! I have successfully reformatted and re-installed Windows XP Professional (SP 3). However, I cannot seem to get some programs working again. I cannot seem to get any XP Themes to work, nor, can I update my IE Browser. The only reason I want to update the IE is because when I install a program, it always says that it cannot finish the install or the program won't work, and it says, it's because I don't have the latest IE, at least IE 10, is what it says. I have tried to install Sims, and XP Themes and neither will work.