Shelby's Build Thoughts

SHELBYGT

In Runtime
Been wanting to build a computer for the longest time. So i figure hey, why not get some answers/ ideas from the Tech forums? So thats my idea.

My budget on this build will be around $600-800 dollars. I will not build this over night, it will be a ongoing process.

Here is what i want. A machine that can handle moderate video editing/some games (not Battlefield standards but close)

So far this is what i like to have but i have no hands on knowledge when it comes down to building a computer this is where you guys/reading reviews/specs comes in.

Case. I been looking at full tower cases, and read many reviews saying buying a full tower is a smart choice due to the room for expansion of new parts/componet upgrades. But is there anything wrong with a mid size tower? Also i love messing around when it comes to custom parts/fans/lights

Cpu, i been looking and reading information on Cpu's. After careful thought,i believe i might go with intels I5 4460, or the I7 4790.

Gpu, this i have no idea on. I dont want a all in one type gpu. But i also dont need a 4K style. Any opinions?

Motherboard, i like the Asus style and their reviews. I would like a couple of 3.0 usb slots/sd card reader/ 4 channel ram

Ram, after seeing my 8gb of ram get destroyed very easily, i know you really cant go wrong with having to much ram.

Power supply. This has me puzzled. Why? Well first, how do you know if it is compatiable with all your devices. Will any power supply work? I know you have to get the right wattage type. What kind is best. In all seriousness, the more wires/cables the better for me.

Vga?dvi?hdmi? What is the better option?

O.S, i like Windows 7 very well. So i may just stick with it untill further information is released on windows 10.

Hard drives. Well i would like the O.S and other programs on a SSD. Then maybe a 1 Tb Hdd.

What else should i be looking at? What is the first thing to buy?