Noob Gaming on a Budget: Build or Buy

Kiramay

Beta member
Hey guys. I have spent some time trying to research different desktop computers and computer parts to try and figure out what I can get on a budget. I am quite frankly overwhelmed, there are just so many options and I have no idea where to begin. I am wary to build because I have no experience with that.

Right now I have a laptop but it really is not cutting it. It chokes up a lot playing Minecraft, Half Life, and a few other Steam games. I tried Skyrim on it once and it was having none of that. So I think it is time to get a desktop now that I am moving to a more permanent location. The Digital Storm Vanquish II was suggested to me. I have a friend who owns a Cyberpower and suggested that as well.

I am trying to stay close to the $700 range.
I would prefer to stick with Windows 7, but that is really only because I have no experience with Windows 8. I do not enjoy the idea of that tablet-like layout.
Other than that I am not sure where to go from there. Right now I am running the intel core i7 and have been enjoying that since upgrading from the awful intel celeron! However, I realize the i7 is pretty hefty in price and other options may be better.

Any suggestions, guys?

Do you need peripherals and a screen as well? If so, that 700 dollar budget just got dropped a metric **** ton. 700 bucks gives you a pretty decent PC if you build yourself.

As to WIndows 7 vs 8, if all you don't like is Metro UI there are several programs that will practically make it disappear. Windows 8.1 Update 2 brings the natural start menu back. Something to think about before laying down 100 for a license.

Do you need peripherals and a screen as well? If so, that 700 dollar budget just got dropped a metric **** ton. 700 bucks gives you a pretty decent PC if you build yourself.