nvidia 7800 wont work - Tech & Computer Forums

Go Back   Tech & Computer Forums > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2005, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 0
Question nvidia 7800 wont work

i bought one of these and tried putting in my dell dimension 2350. my friend said that the shiny metal part on the bottom looks like it has lines because you cut at the lines if it doesnt fit. so i carefully cut off the bottom so that it fit into 1 of the slot things in my computer. now it doesnt work. did i cut it wrong? id post pics, but no camera. is there anyway i can fix this? thanks for any help.

hm............................................

now the rest of the system wont turn on and it beeps a lot. is this fixable???????????????

Epic update by Saxon:

With the old forum skin too ^

YTMND - 7800GTX
ytmnd has it too.
__________________

__________________
hollywood is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Oh my, no offense your friend is a *******, or you are playing a joke on us.

And even if it did work, your computer the bigges peice of crap no offense.
__________________

__________________
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 06:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 0
Default

yeah, its not that fast but it does the job. should i return the 7800 board back to best buy?
__________________
hollywood is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

You can't cut anything on the hardware.

Funny, you just blew around a few hundred dollar's, or your friend. What a waste of money.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Venus, Texas
Posts: 18,899
Default

ROFLMAO ROFLAMO!!!! Omg if you say is true your so dumb and so is your friend no offense lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire BF3/BF4/CSGO
Xfire = mguire
Twitch = pp_mguire
I'll send you $30 if they don't release a PC version (GTA 5) within 12months of console release. You can totally hold me to that.
Write it down or copy it into your sig. -Kmanx to PP 11/7/2012
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Make sure you take it back to a guy who needs glasses. CUTTING THE CARD WILL PERMENTLY SCREW IT OVER, AND VOIDS ANY WARRANTY.

Were you drunk at the time you did this?
__________________
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

OMFG are you that dum, Are you smoking something you must be. PCI and PCI-E are totally different y in the world did you cut it to make it fit. I so shock that it even fix. You most likey killed your pc man. a 600 dollar card cut to make fit in a PCI slot is that waht you are going to say to Dell. And teh manufater from that 7800GTX card. You really must of been smoking something or you must be really dum to do sucha a thing really.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Dell 2350's don't even have an AGP slot. Only PCI slots.

The 7800 is PCI Express only.

The 2350 isn't even worth the price of that card... ROFLMAO!!!
Sorry, you're out of luck!!!
__________________
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 0
Default

my friend can build a computer so i asked him how to do it. hes really good with computers, but i guess everyone makes mistakes. ill try to return it. my friend said that the lines were like fringed edges on a piece of paper and you just need to cut carefully at the line :-[
__________________
hollywood is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hollywood
my friend can build a computer so i asked him how to do it. hes really good with computers, but i guess everyone makes mistakes. ill try to return it. my friend said that the lines were like fringed edges on a piece of paper and you just need to cut carefully at the line :-[
Ban this clown... This is someone just F'n around... No one is this stupid.
__________________

__________________
HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO