I need serious help, please.

schatterd

Beta member
Hi y'all,

I'm new to this, so if I posted wrong, or say the wrong thing, please excuse me.

I don't even know where to begin. While I realize I have an older computer system then most, it has become increasingly slower than I ever remember. I am unable to use Chrome any longer. I can't seem to access certain programs any longer. I've tried to download and run some security scans, like Hijackthis, but I know enough not to "fix" any results unless someone smarter than me reviews the log. Some of the other programs freeze during use, like Belcar.

I had run a version of AdwCleaner that an IT personal friend had, but now can't seem to find or download any version that I don't get some kind of error message with.

I've run Malwarebytes, it finds nothing. I'm using Norton360, but it doesn't find anything. I have become so frustrated I don't know what to do any longer, 'cept maybe put a bullet in this machine.

I'm not sure what I'm to post here until I get some direction.

So, I'm going to thank, profusely, in advance, the person that takes this task on. I do have the original installation disks from Dell for Vista, Office Home, whatever came with the system when I bought it, but like Dell's utility driver disk, it's in the drive, but when I try to access it, it keeps telling me to insert a CD...so, there. That's basically it.

I need help before I explode, please!!

You should try to format the OS. It's a good thing to do once in a while. You are using vista, so i know your computer is at least 5 years old. If you haven't done a fresh install sense, you really should do it. If i where you i'll get an SSD and install windows 7 or 8 on it. IT's gonna make the system much faster. Remember to backup everything before formatting.