Two parallel internet connections

Status
Not open for further replies.

nexxogen

Solid State Member
Hello everyone.

I work as a software developer at an insurance company and due to the company's security policy, some websites have been blocked by the administrators. A lot of them are pretty harmless. Youtube has also been blocked and I can't count the times when I could have used it to solve a problem that I had but instead had to spend a whole lot of time browsing through god knows how many websites. Other than the wired connection, we also have a WiFi which is completely free, but we can only access it from our smartphones since we don't have WiFi cards in our desktop computers.

Now, I got an idea to try and use USB tethering to connect my computer to the free WiFi through my Android phone, which worked but there is a problem with that - when the WiFi is being used, I can't access the company's infrastructure and I can't work. So after that, I had this idea:

1. Have both the wired and the tethered WiFi connection on at the same time.
2. Set windows to use the wired connection and not the WiFi, so I can work normally.
3. Install VMWare Player and install Ubuntu on it.
4. Set Ubuntu to use the WiFi instead of the wired connection.
5. Be happy. :D

I tried to do this, but I don't know anything about how this works and if it can work at all, so I pretty much have no idea what I'm doing.

So my question is - is this even possible and if it's not, is there an alternative way to do it without having to put any new hardware in, because that is not an option unfortunately.

So your stating your want to circumvent your company's security policy's?
Your company will allow you to install VM so you can use another operating system on their pc?