Please Help.. Network Troubleshooting.. SOS - Tech & Computer Forums

Go Back   Tech & Computer Forums > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2012, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default Please Help.. Network Troubleshooting.. SOS

okay.. before the problem.. here's the situation first...

we bought a com cafe (SHOP A).. 40 computers.. modem from the ISP (PLDT MyDSL), a linksys router.. 2 dlink gigabit switch... win xp sp3..
all was fine up to now..
we expand and bought the neighbor cafe (SHOP B)... setup sucks.. utp color coding not even among the 568-a and b..
they just had the both ends same...
no router.. the setup was modem >> Dlink DES-1024R+ 10/100 Fast Ethernet Switch >>> computers..

at first i dont know how to connect these two shops but someone taught me what to do..

Connecting a Cable between Shop A and Shop b Switches (link)
Change the IP add and subnet of Shop B computers and make them follow Shop A setup..
Shop A... 172.16.2.... Shop B 172.16.4.... >>> 172.16.2...
Change the gateway of Shop B computers so that it will follow Shop A setup again... since we let go of the ISP of Shop B
(to prevent two internet bills).. but we still keep the modem of Shop B and it's acting as a hub..
and its done...

Now... we were introduced to a new ISP (Sky Broadband) and will give us a 1 month trial of internet usage..
my problem is the installation of that ISP..
I want it to be installed in Shop B.. but knowing Shop B's setup...
What do you think of the changes that's going to happen? If the they will only bring a modem.. what will happen?
Do i need to manually changed the IP again?
Do i need to remove the link of Shop A and Shop B to avoid conlift?
I mean im a total newbie here.. so please spare me of technical terms .
can you please help me or share your thoughts with my problem...
Thanks in advance for those who will answer... ^^
__________________

__________________
dadisam is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,403
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Please Help.. Network Troubleshooting.. SOS

are you changing to a new isp or trying to setup two isps to the network? i think the easiest is to replace the modem for shop a and attache the new modem to the router.

everything else can stay the same.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Please Help.. Network Troubleshooting.. SOS

Im trying to set 2 isp's sir...
my boss wants us to try that isp so we need to install it.. but i want it to install at the shop b..
__________________
dadisam is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,403
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Please Help.. Network Troubleshooting.. SOS

you can attach it to the switch in shop b (assuming the modem is a router, too). and assign static ips to the computer you wish to use to test the connection.

in the end you can setup the computers with two default gateways. i'm not 100 % sure the computer would failover to the second gateway.

here's some reading about that.

Default Gateway Configuration for Multihomed Computers


ideally, you want a device that can perform wan load balancing.

like this one

Cisco RV042 Dual WAN VPN Router - Cisco Systems
office politics is offline  
Old 03-09-2012, 03:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Please Help.. Network Troubleshooting.. SOS

Thank so much sir!.. Il try to work on your solution sir.. Thanks again for helping ^^
__________________
dadisam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SOS...using hotspot for internet access at network Bigdog420 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 03-05-2012 06:17 PM
Online Network Troubleshooting Analyzer Netalyzr Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-13-2009 01:30 PM
PC and Network troubleshooting Tinyman Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-16-2005 02:10 AM
Motherboard and network troubleshooting pwong Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-06-2004 12:52 PM
network troubleshooting techi Off Topic Discussion 1 01-27-2004 08:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO