A+ and Network+ tech or associates programs in NYC

strtdfrmbtm

Beta member
Hey all,
I'm a newbie to the tech world. Looking in to a career change. I've read in many threads that if I want to get an entry level IT position I should obtain the A+ and Network+ certificates. I plan to get other certs but for now I want to focus on those to get started.

My question is: Does anyone in the NYC area know of any accredited colleges with associates degree programs that would prep me for BOTH the A+ and Network+ certificates? What about tech schools? I have a Bachelor in Childhood Education :( so a tech school would make more sense at this point.

Thanks in advance.

I can't help you there - i'm in the midwest but i can give you some good resources:
Professor Messer, CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Linux, Microsoft Certification Training is a free website - it has a TON of quality material and hours and hours of free QUALITY videos.

If you best learn in a classroom environment - then take a class. It's been my experience though that taking a class really isn't worth the money for any CompTIA exam. I'm not saying that the classes aren't worth it for like a CCNA, MCSA or VCP - but for something as entry level as an A+ and Net+ I wouldn't take a class.

We need an idea of what your tech background is and what you know and don't know. If you are completely new to technology and just getting started (IE never fixed PCs on your free time) then by all means - go to a class. If you have tech experience, just looking for some certifications to backup your knowledge I would forgo the classroom and just study on your own.

To put the numbers down, you will be paying $1,000 to $1,500 depending on the area and school for one, count that one class to cover just the A+ OR (not and) Net+. With that you will still have to pay the costs of the exam.

Compare that to the website i just gave you (free), and an $80 book you do the math.

Hey Lexluethar,