Network+ & A+ Certification Questions

Chasee

Baseband Member
Hey guys! I'm new to the forum and look forward to reading and responding to all the awesome conversations that take place here. But first, I have a few questions to ask about IT certification!

I'm 18 and plan on getting into the IT field, (probably security) but plan to start out with an entry level job in Desktop support. I've heard that being A+ certified alone is usually enough to get a job right after you take your exams, BUT I was just wondering if this is true, and how long it takes to do these types of certifications?

I am very advanced with technology, more so than most people my age. I'm not a complete beginner, but I am when it comes to how a computer actually works, same with networking.

Any comments or responses are encouraged! Thanks for your time!

Moved to Tech Careers and Education.

The people that normally give advise on this will be more likely to see it. Could also browse through the other threads in this board and see what suggestions people gave already to get a basic sense of direction, so to speak.

Moved to Tech Careers and Education.

The people that normally give advise on this will be more likely to see it. Could also browse through the other threads in this board and see what suggestions people gave already to get a basic sense of direction, so to speak.

Great! Even better. So sorry I posted in the wrong section, I made sure to look everywhere but I couldn't seem to find the area for careers in IT.

Mind attaching a link so I can find my thread?

A+ is a great start - if you enjoy security get the Sec+ too.

Generally speaking the A+ and Net / Sec + will be enough to get your foot in the door. Realize your first job will probably have nothing to do with security. You'll probably be doing desktop support or help desk type work.