Interview help and tips

MillField

Daemon Poster
I recently graduated with a BSc in Computer Science. I have a few interviews coming up, mainly in software development. I was wondering is there any particular tips or general interview preparation tips that anyone here could advise on?

I haven't ever had an interview for a graduate job so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks.

Firstly, congrats! I graduated with my BS in CSC last December.

Brush up on your programming terms / basic data structure knowledge.
Depending on the job you're applying for, make sure you're prepared for questions on stuff like databases, source control, etc.
Make sure you emphasize any team projects you worked on and stuff like that, or any large projects you worked on in general. Mention anything that you've worked on outside of classes that you're proud of (stuff that you made just for fun - I mentioned some of this during my interview, and the interviewers seemed sort of impressed, or at least glad to see I was enjoying what I did).

I actually didn't have many "programming" questions during my interview, which was surprising. Of course, a guy I work with at this job said some of his interviews that he had were full of programming questions.

If it's a welll-known company, see if you can find examples of interview questions.

Thanks for the reply! Right now I am pretty much just doing online exercises in different languages to get back in the development frame of mind. I have a code test Sunday to complete for another company so I need to get some practice in before then. This interview should be pretty eye opening for what to expect. It's for IBM, so there seems to be some tips online from people ho have interviewed there :)