False positive alert from Mcafee with NSIS installer

alexhilda

Solid State Member
As a developer I use NSIS most of the time. Recently I have got some complains that programs that uses nsis installer are being detected as a threat by mcafee. However now even the official nsis installer itself is detected as a threat by mcafee. Below is a analysis done by virustotal
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/7e5c203584c538205b345d91249fca8af03a8cf186c8c870a86374812d8103a5/analysis/

Found some similar threads also on mcafee community > https://community.mcafee.com/message/355351#355351

I would like to know if anyone facing the same problem as I am

I'd say your options are as follows:

1) Change the functionality of the software in regards to how it behaves
2) Submit the findings as false positives to McAfee so that they can whitelist them in their definitions
3) Instruct your customers to whitelist the installers/programs
4) Instruct your customers to ditch McAfee since it sucks anyway :p.

I'd say your options are as follows:

1) Change the functionality of the software in regards to how it behaves
2) Submit the findings as false positives to McAfee so that they can whitelist them in their definitions
3) Instruct your customers to whitelist the installers/programs
4) Instruct your customers to ditch McAfee since it sucks anyway :p.

Thanks for the reply however I am talking about official nsis installer is being detected as a threat by mcafee on my computer. I have already submitted a false positive to Mcafee but they barely done anything about it and there are a lot of discussions going on in community of mcafee at the moment regarding the same problem.

Ah, ok, thought you meant for an app you were developing, since you posted this in the Programming board.

Well, about all you can do is whitelist the installers or disable McAfee while installing them.

My suggestion still stands about ditching McAfee - it's not a very good AV.